Bayaua and Langston Win at Lone Star Tour Finale

Posted 10/16/2014 in Events & Features, Pro Pool


by Kim White-Newsome


Bayaua and Langston Win at Lone Star Tour Finale



Ernesto Bayaua – Open Division Winner


Ernesto Bayaua cruised, undefeated, through an elite field of open 9-ball division players at this past weekend’s Lone Star Finale held at Bogies Billiards & Sports Bar in Houston, Texas.  Tour newcomer Jesse Langston also made a big splash, destroying the amateur 9-ball division’s 32 player field.  The 2014 Lone Star Billiards Tour is sponsored by Poison by Predator Cues,, Delta-13 Rack,,, Ozone Billiards,, and APA of North Harris County,



Manny Chau – Open Division Runner-up


In the open division, Bayaua flew undefeated to the hot seat with wins over Manny Chau, 9-5, Dave DeVaney, 9-1, Cielo Velasquez, 9-3, and Will Felder, 9-4. Sonny Bosshamer had an incredible run, defeating Alex Cardenas, 9-5, Phillip Tieu, 9-6, and Jonathon Poon, 9-3. After suffering a second round loss to Felder, 9-5, Steve Williams overcame Damion Manning, 7-4, newcomer Russell Killgo, 7-6, Jim Bishop, 7-5, and took revenge on Felder, 7-5. Also on the one-loss side, Poon fell to Chau who went on to eliminate Williams, 7-0. Bayaua secured the hot seat over Bosshamer, who subsequently lost to Chau, 7-3. Bayaua emerged victorious over Chau to claim his second Lone Star Tour win of the season.



(left) Chase Rudder – 2014 Open Division  Champion, (right) Jonathan Poon – 2014 Amateur Division Champion


It was no surprise to see Jonathon Poon reach the winners’ bracket, a player whose game has excelled on tour the past few years. Poon bested Steve Williams, Robert Gonzalez, Daniel Wise, 7-4, and Jerald Jackson, 7-5. Felder, whose statistics are also on the upswing, took down Justin Pena, 7-1, Bill Fain 7-4, Jesse Langston, 7-4, and finally, Sonny Bosshamer to reach Poon for the hot seat. One-loss side action saw Chris Young, who suffered a first round loss to Jim Bishop, win 5 consecutive matches until losing to Bosshamer, 5-3. Langston overcame Jackson, 5-3, and Bosshamer, 5-4, while Poon squeezed by Felder for the hot seat win, 7-6. Langston went on to conquer Felder, 5-4, along with hot seat winner Poon, to capture his first Lone Star Tour win!



Jesse Langston –  Amateur Division Winner


It was a close race to the finish line, but after the points were calculated, Chase Rudder and Jonathon Poon emerged the 2014 Open and Amateur Lone Star Tour Champions, respectively. Each player received a new Poison VX Jump Cue and Delta-13 Elite Rack for their year-long efforts. Congratulations to Jonathon Poon who now joins the ranks of Danny Lee, Frank Ferrer, Jr., and Cielo Velasquez who have earned their way to “open” division tour status. Tour newcomers Chris Cole and Phillip Tieu didn’t walk away empty handed, they also took home Poison VX Jump Cues won in Saturday’s Poison Cue Raffles.



Chris Cole – Poison VX Jump Cue Raffle Winner


The Lone Star Billiards Tour would like to thank all of the players who competed in the 2014 Lone Star Tour season, along with Chuck Adams and John Newsome for assistance with tournament direction, BCA Referee Derrell Montgomery for “keeping the peace” on the pool tables, and Cathy Metzinger for calculating the tour rankings. Bogies Billiards & Sports Bar owners David and Shannon Richardson and Skinny Bob’s Billiards owners John and Sue Cielo, hosted another great year of events and LSBT looks forward to the 2015 venue line-up which will include Houston’s newest 10,000 square foot pool room, Bogies Billiards West located at 9638 Jones Rd., Houston, Texas.

Once again, the Lone Star Billiards Tour would like to recognize the best in the business and thank them for their continued support: Poison by Predator Cues, Delta-13 Rack, Ozone Billiards, Improve Your Shot, and the APA of North Harris County. The “best in the business” also includes the LSBT Press Partners who strive to bring billiard news to the world. A big, Texas “thank you” to Rack Em Magazine’s Don and Mary Akerlow for printing the stories that players love to read, collect, and cherish. Press Partners, event details, and information on the upcoming 2015 season can all be found at “Like” us at Facebook/LoneStarTour.


Open Payouts

1st Ernesto Bayaua $500/$475

2nd Manny Chau $300/$220

3rd Sonny Bosshamer $140/$125

4th Steve Williams $65

5th-6th Jonathon Poon, Will Felder $35 ea.


Amateur Payouts

1st Jesse Langston $500/$400

2nd Jonathon Poon $300/$250

3rd Will Felder $140/$125

4th Sonny Bosshamer $70/$75

5th-6th Chris Young, Jerald Jackson $40 ea.

7th-8th Jim rBishop, Justin Pena $25 ea.

Copyright © 2014 Poison Products. All Rights Reserved. Poison, Predator and Uni-Loc are registered trademarks of Predator Group.